New Orleans! 2012 National Convention Recap

NEW ORLEANS! 2012 NATIONAL CONVENTION RECAP

July 9, 2012 · by  · in Uncategorized. · Edit

On June 20th, 2012, over 1000 members of the journalism and media industry assembled in New Orleans, Louisiana for  five days of communication, networking and fellowship. The following is an in-depth recap of the convention from members of NABJ Syracuse University Chapter: 
Initial Thoughts

“I really enjoyed the atmosphere at #NABJ12 in New Orleans. Being a second-time convention goer, I was definitely more prepared to deal with the frenzy of seeing celebrities up close and personal. But also, I came ready and willing to reach out to any and everyone who looked my way”- Troy James (Junior)

“This is my sixth convention, and each year, I am amazed at the network that NABJ is. Through NABJ, I’ve met the editors of some of my favorite publications, networked with other student chapters to figure out ways to better serve our respective campuses, and found (paying!) freelance work in addition to my internships in undergrad”- Sade Mohammed (Alumni)

“As a first time attendee, I was fascinated at the mere thought of being surrounded by well-established African-Americans who are prominent role models in the communications industries. I learned so much from their panels on politics, new media, worldly reportage, and from the screenings. My favorite screening was ‘Won’t Back Down’ with Viola Davis“- Oladotun Idowu (Junior)

Networking, Workshops & Seminars

“My favorite event was easily ESSENCE’s Conversation with Shaunie O’Neal. ESSENCE Editor-In-Chief Constance C.R. White held the interview in a way that kept a rowdy audience productive and a understandably defensive Shaunie honest”- Sade Mohammed 

“As a student pursuing a career in communications, there is a great deal to learn about the industry. The annual convention allows students to learn so much from seasoned professionals, eager to offer advice”- Sophia Botchway (Senior)

“I loved the discussion about the 2012 Obama campaign moderated by TJ Holmes and I was star struck while listening to Kerry Washington speak about her new movie “Django Unchained” and her role in “Scandal,” the popular ABC series written by Shonda Rhimes”- Candice Frank (Junior)

“My best memories came when we were able to mingle with the professionals in a late-night setting. For me, this time is crucial to networking in that it reflects your ability to have fun as well as be professional and focus on your craft. Many times, late night mixers and events were where I made the best and most memorable connections to professionals and fellow students”- Troy James

Recreation

“New Orleans was a great venue for the convention. The lively city has its own culture to the point where you forget that you’re in the United States”-Candice Frank

“The blaring Sounds of celebration could still be heard from the world famous Bourbon Street at 5AM. Not to mention the vibrant hues of the Mississippi River, rustic architecture and the delectably addicting Cajun food. The thought that attendees would run out of activities should’ve been the very least of the planning committees worries”- Wayne Smith III (Sophomore) 

“The social aspect of the trip was great as well. We went with a great group ranging from all years and everyone was focused on the task at hand. We were able to try great foods as well as interact with New Orleanians in a great way. I also enjoyed the ESPN Sports Task Force Jam. The entire weekend we were able to relax a bit and really enjoy networking”- Lawrence Jackson (Junior)

Final Thoughts 

“It’s quite amazing to see the organizations NABJ and NABJ-SU continue to grow and further celebrate excellence amongst talented Black journalists and media enthusiasts, which I take great pride in. I hope to continue attending more conventions in the near future, and I hope to further indulge myself in all the facets journalism has to offer me. Looking forward to NABJ-Orlando! Can’t wait. Until then, let’s continue to keep up the great work and continue to see success!” President, Christina Jones (Senior)

NOLA Return

 

 

 

 

 

 

