ORLANDO 2013! CONVENTION RECAP

Florida logo
On July 31st, 2013,  The National Association of Black Journalists welcomed members of the journalism and media industry to Orlando for the 38th Annual Convention and Career Fair. The National Association of Black Journalist Syracuse University was saluted as the Student Chapter of The Year for our excellence in  serving NABJ, our collegiate communities and members, with unique activities and programs. The following is a  recap of the convention from our members:

IMG_4004

Where do I begin? On behalf of NABJ-SU, I would like to thank NABJ for awarding us ‘Student Chapter of the Year.’ Winning that award was the best, most rewarding experience for me at convention in Orlando this year. To be honest, it’s all I’ve ever wanted after putting my NABJ-SU members to work so much. And truly, our hard work paid off. NABJ-SU has definitely come a long way, and I’m glad to say that I’ve been an active member of our student chapter since my freshman year. To have seen NABJ-SU grow to where it is now and to see the young leaders I’ve helped inspire, truly inspires me everyday also. As I reminisce, my last four years at convention have been nothing less than completely beneficial to my learning about the journalism industry and has afforded me the opportunity to gain innumerable connections and mentors in the field willing and able to support me and see me succeed. I’m sad to leave NABJSU, but I look forward to being a part of NYABJ and seeing my growth expand there and beyond. I would like to encourage new members of NABJ-SU to seek opportunities within our organization, because the opportunities are endless. Thank you NABJ-SU…I only see success for you guys!  – Christina Jones, Former President and Graduate

IMG_9135 copyIMG_0259

NABJ Orlando was my first NABJ Convention. I wasn’t really sure what to expect but I definitely had one of the best experiences of my life. Being able to network with journalists from all around the country and fellow college students in such a relaxed yet professional setting, was amazing! – Marabia Smith, Junior

With so many talented communication professionals under one roof I really enjoyed bumping into them on-the-go and engaging in casual conversation. One person in particular was anchor Janet Lomax from my hometown Rochester, NY who was very willing to exchange contact info and discuss upstate affairs. And to top it off, it was great receiving praise and congratulations from random convention goers for winning Student Chapter of the Year – Troy James, Senior

IMG_9121-1Each workshop was insightful  and entertaining and helped me to better understand important issues taking place in our country, each and every day. I was most inspired during the press conference with the family of Travon Martin. It is one thing to hear about his family and the aftermath of the trial on television, but being in their presence and hearing their story verbatim helped me to grow as a person and as a journalist. – Rikki Adams, Senior

IMG_0282

It was my first time attending an an NABJ Convention, and I have to say that I had a great time. I think it’s an event every aspiring journalist should experience. I was able to sit down with ESPN’s Jay Harris and he critiqued my play-by-play tape. Learning from the professionals is always a great thing. – Christine Davis, Senior

IMG_0251

Although I wasn’t able to attend all of the workshops/events that I would’ve liked to, the event that was my favorite was the screening of The Butler. I really enjoyed the fact that in addition to being able to see The Butler weeks early, there was an open discussion with the director Lee Daniels, lead actor Forest Whitaker and Wil Haygood of the Washington Post. It’s not often that one is able to be a part of a conversation about a film, with the director AND lead actor of the film. – Kadisha Phillips, Junior 

IMG_9184

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

